MINUTES OF THE MCDONOUGH COUNTY BOARD

January 19, 2022

The monthly meeting of the McDonough County Board was held at the McDonough County Courthouse at 7:00 p.m. at the McDonough County Courthouse, Courtroom 201, roll call resulted in 20 present, and 1 absent. Board Member absent was Dave Cortelyou. Sheriff Nick Petitgout made the opening declaration. Chair Schwerer led the Pledge of Allegiance.

EXHIBIT 1

Board Member McLean moved with a second by Board Member McGrew to approve the minutes of December 15, 2021. Motion carried with a voice vote.

EXHIBIT 2

The report from Public Defender, Stephanie Hilton for the month of December, 2021 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 3

The report of Sales Tax collected in October, 2021 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 4

The report of Balances and Investments from County Treasurer Graves for the month of December, 2021 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 5

The report of Circuit Clerk Wilson for the month of December, 2021 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 6

The report from County Clerk DeJaynes on Warrants Issued in Vacation for the month of December, 2021 was received and filed.

EXHIBIT 7

The Transfer of Appropriations of Monies was referred to the Finance Committee. Chair Hiel reported the finance committee did not transfer any funds as **Exhibit 8A**

EXHIBIT 8

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Aurelio to approve the report of the Finance Committee as read. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 20 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 1 absent as **Exhibit 8A**.

EXHIBIT 9

Board Member Nissen moved with a second by Board Member Durkin to dispense with the reading of the claims report and to approve it as approved by the Claims Committee. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 20 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 1 absent as **Exhibit 9A**.

EXHIBIT 10

Board Member Erlandson moved with a second by Board Member Melvin to appoint Cynthia Hare to the 708 Mental Health Board to fill a vacant and unexpired term of James Gray ending June 30, 2023. Motion carried on a voice vote as **Exhibit 10A.**

EXHIBIT 11

Board Member Chapman moved with a second by Board Member Foster to appoint Joseph L. Fosdyck as a Trustee of the Bushnell Fire Protection District to fill a vacant and unexpired term of Lee Worthington. Motion carried on a voice vote as **Exhibit 11A**.

EXHIBIT 12

Board Member McGrew moved with a second by Board Member Marcott to approve the Resolution to appoint Scott Hance as acting Engineer. Motion carried on a voice vote as **Exhibit 12A.**

EXHIBIT 13

Board Member Marcott moved with a second by Board Member McGrew to approve the Resolution to appoint Scott Hance as Authorized Individual to sign Monthly Claims. Motion carried on a voice vote as **Exhibit 13A.**

EXHIBIT 14

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Chapman to approve 2022 Pavement Preservation Program Resolution. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 20 yeas, 0 nays, 0 pass, and 1 absent as **Exhibit 14A**.

EXHIBIT 15

Member Calvert moved with a second by Board Member Cox to approve 2022 Pavement Preservation Contract. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 20 yeas, 0 pass, and 1 absent as **Exhibit 15A.**

EXHIBIT 16

Board Member Dixon moved with a second by Board Member Hiel to approve the Sheriff's Annual Report. Motion carried on a voice vote as **Exhibit 16A**.

Exhibit 17

Board Member Durkin moved with a second by Board Member Hiel to approve Accept Audit. Motion carried on a voice vote as **Exhibit 17A.**

EXHIBIT 18

Board Member Cox moved with a second by Board Member Melvin to approve AMENDED Ordinance for West Prairie water COOP. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 19 yeas, 0 nays, 1 pass, and 1 absent as **Exhibit 18A.**

EXHIBIT 19

Board Member Hiel discussed what the uses will be for lost Revenue. Hiel would like to have a new survey on uses if they can use it for any purpose.

EXHIBIT 20

Board Member Foster moved with a second by Board Member Hiel to approve Considering ARPA Funds as Lost Revenue. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 20 yeas, 0 pass, and 1 absent as **Exhibit 20A.**

EXHIBIT 21

County Chair Schwerer gave the floor to Board Member Marcott as this was his Agenda Request. Board Member Marcott moved with a second by Board Member Kirby to make masks mandatory for all County Board and Committee Meetings. Motion failed with a roll call of 10 yeas, 10 nays, 0 pass, and 1 absent as **Exhibit 21A.**

Chair Schwerer entertained a motion that Days and Miles are checked, Roll be called and the Board adjourn until Wednesday, February 16, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. Board Member Foster made the motion which was seconded by Board Member Chapman. Motion carried with a roll call vote of 20 yeas and 1 absent. With no further business to discuss the meeting adjourned at 7:36 p.m. Sheriff Petitgout gave the closing declaration.